Interest in a class on Photography

I’ve heard from a few members they would be interested in classes on photography.

To start, I’m thinking of offering a class set with focus (yeah thats intended) on images for projects completed, or in process, at Make ICT

The class topics would be:
A. photography terminology, types of cameras & lenses, get to know your camera (~2 hrs)
B. basic lighting for taking that awesome project image (~2 hr)
C. how to set up a shot to maximize the final image quality (2+ hr hands on - bring a project and your camera kind of class)

Thoughts? Interest?

Thanks,
Mike

6 Likes

You already know I’m down!

I don’t remember when we talked whether you were going to differentiate classes by phone camera or (D)SLR.

Could you also throw in some photo post processing?

1 Like

I know Im interested.
We met on Maker Monday.

Currently in negotiation with my remote employer … to be in Atlanta. 4, 6 8 weeks? Still in discussions.

I have a lot of b&w darkroom experience. I own a dusty Canon SLR T7i that never gets used and Im thinking its good for videos of “Makers Building things”. So I do like the idea of group type class.

Ive taken lecture type class from the parks dept and only really beneffitted from the hands-on days. Which is harder for an instructor. So maybe keep class size small or go in with the idea that your more experienced but rusty students [like me] become teachers assistants… if we pair off and complete a shooting assignment. For that matter maybe I can skip the parts for the complete greenhorn.

We also have a Digital Image skills guy in the studio. I forget who. Bern meaning to reconnect. But forget who he is.

I’d be interested too! Sounds amazing. I assume it’s a BYO camera situation, right?

2 Likes

Setting up a video/ photo studio space would be a fun project. Who would I reach out to for exploring that idea?

1 Like

If members have a camera sure. If no camera I can bring some as well.

1 Like