I'm new, my name is Heather New

Hello Fellow Makers,

Here is a little about me. I love collaborating, brainstorming and coming up with creative solutions to problems. I code websites for a living and consider design a lifestyle as it shapes every aspect of our lives.

I have quite a bit of experience in design, vinyl cutting, t-shirt screen printing, and wood working. I’m looking to expand my knowledge in laser cutting, 3D printing, lathe and advanced wood working techniques, CNC, etc.

I tend to be quiet until spoken to, my brows furrow and my forefinger rubs my forehead when I’m thinking.

If you get stuck or need help translating sketches into the digital world, I’m your gal.

10 Likes

Welcome Heather!

You might check with Jimmy for classes on the Tormac, but it would be worth getting familiar with Fusion360 for the rest of the machines. The plasma cnc, shop bot, and black mini mill can all be run with files exported from Fusion360.

I am working on a class for the big Logan lathe and Craftsman lathe and should have something posted on the calendar soon but the class will be limited to 2 people at a time for now.

3 Likes

I’ll be looking forward to the lathe training!

I did a bit of research on Fusion 360 and it seems like some nice software, I’m happy it’s available for Mac as well as it having applications for a variety of machines. Thinking in the 3-d space on the computer is definitely new to me but I’m pretty excited about it.

1 Like

I think of 3d space as 2… plus 1 space!

Typically you pick a 2d space, make a shape and then extend it into 3d. So 2… plus 1.

1 Like

That’s clear as mud :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Just curious on your web coding … can you elaborate on that? Is that static html/css pages, or web-based applications? Do you do just front-end programming, or back-end as well? What languages and platforms do you generally work with?