Sourcing knifemaking steel`

What’s the best place to get steel? I’m new to knifemaking and need some steel, ive heard 1084 is good for beginners.

1 Like

@ScottS is part of the blacksmithing guild in haysville and would know best

2 Likes

thanks for the lead

1 Like

they also have pretty low membership dues and have a facility down in haysville with forges and everything you would need along with classes i believe.

3 Likes

Yes, my son wanted a membership a few years ago it’s $20 for the household, $2 fuel fee each day you come, donate a few bottles of water, and $20 for a Saturday day class. I even got in on the action, not my thing, but it was interesting to try. Here is their website. https://csma.us/

3 Likes

My dad actually gets knife steel from Amazon. I’ll ask him for an updated opinion.

Edit: He says 1075 & 1084 are both good for beginners. He says Jantz supply is a place. He bought some handle material from them but they have steel too.

He says Google ‘Steel knife blanks’. He recommends 1075 over 1084 for a beginner because 1095 turns brittle. “The higher the # the higher the carbon content and the more brittle the steel.”

This info is coming from Cal, btw, my dad. He’s a newish member but doesn’t come down too often.

3 Likes

I miss seeing Cal around here!

3 Likes

Thanks Gemma! I’ll tell him you said that. :hugs:

3 Likes

Good info from Cal. I would also add that leaf springs are commonly found in the suspension system of many vehicles. They’re made from tough, durable steel that’s designed to handle heavy loads and constant stress. This makes them a prime candidate for knife making. Leaf Springs are 5160 steel which has different alloys in them. Leaf Springs can be found at junk yards and scrap metal yards at relatively cheap prices.

5 Likes

They can also be found in most parking lots.