Questions about corset project

Howdy. I’m gradually assembling/creating pieces for a “viking warrior woman” costume, which I’d like to include a corset. I ordered one off Amazon, and it was a disaster-- cheap material (which I expected) and broken clasps (which I hadn’t). So I think I want to try making one myself.

However, I am a novice at sewing, and I have never made a corset before.

Can somebody with my experience possibly advise on whether this is doable?

I got this pattern, deciding it was the closest thing to what I want.

Features I do want:

• I do want steel boning.
  • I do want lacing in the back, as is traditional for a corset.

Features I want to change:

• I don’t want straps that are tied together, like here. If the straps are adjustable, I’d rather find some other way to do it like buckles or something.
  • Most corsets I’ve seen don’t just have the lace-up in back as the only closure. I really like the look of clasps or buckles going up the front, so that you can get the lacing exactly how you want in back, but then put it on like a vest and fasten it in the front.
  • Maaaaaaybe I could put some tooled leather on there, somewhere?

I’ve also considered adding furs, maybe a fur collar? But I think those would be best as pieces that can be attached and detached rather than part of the corset itself.

Anyway, here’s the pattern on the left, and a very rough sketch of what I’d like to make on the right. (The fox faces are theoretically tooled leather. :smiley:) It might be so different as to make this pattern useless, I don’t know. I guess then I’d have to find a new one.

1 Like

Malissa Long from Textiles would be the one to ask. There are other skilled people in the sewing department but I don’t know their names.

1 Like