Planting garlic

October is generally the time to plant garlic. I still haven’t planted mine yet. Does anyone have experience in planting garlic later than normal? I’ve been planting it for quite a few years but just very late in getting it done this year.

2 Likes

I did some in January lasy year and it came out fine just a little small. Glad you brought this up, I’m going to plant some this week!

2 Likes

Ive GOT to get mine planted too. Ugh.

1 Like

Like most gardening rules of thumb, the dates to plant garlic are based on the weather which doesn’t always correlate to the calendar. If the ground is still workable (not frozen) it’s just fine to plant garlic (and other bulbs) later than the recommended calendar date. (Or to plant earlier, since garlic seeds are self planting starting late in September typically).

Same is true for most flowering bulbs as well. Some mail order bulb suppliers don’t send bulbs out any earlier than October 15 into our climate zone.

And, almost completely unrelated, pruning of flowering shrubs and trees have recommended calendar dates, but the actual local weather is the determining factor and sticking strictly to the calendar can cause less than optimal results.

2 Likes

Thanks @Jesse, that’s good to know. I’ve been planting it for quite a few years but I’ve never gotten it in this late.
@Paula seems this time of year is way too busy. It’s easy to put some of these things off.