Parting question

Hey All,

I am very new to the lathe and have a question about parting. Do you ever use a live center when parting? Yesterday, I was parting using a live center, my work piece jammed up, it was ruined, bent the hole work piece like 10 degrees. I read that these problems can also occur when the parting tool is not 90 degrees to the work piece. So in short, do you ever use a live center when parting, and was this likely the cause of this? Sorry if this is a noob question, but I have to start somewhere lol.

Thanks for your help!

No, you cannot use a center when parting off a part. Using a center will cause the freshly cut piece to pinch the parting blade which tends to end badly. If the item you are parting off has a hole through it, which sounds like that might be the case since you had a center in it, you can use a piece of wire or a screwdriver through the part to catch it. If the part is too small for that or does not have a hole, you can put something underneath it to catch it when it falls. Or, if the part has a surface finish that will not eat your fingers, you can just lightly grasp it while it is spinning and catch it with your fingers when it is parted off

2 Likes

Ok, thanks very much!

I often use a live center when parting, never had any issue. I don’t put an extreme amount of force on the part with the live center, but enough to keep everything in the right place and not chattering… I am not too strict on keeping the parting tool at the perfect 90 degrees and have not had that cause an issue, but it could be a huge problem. I am using a carbide insert parting tool on my lathe as it seems to work better than the old kind for me. Good luck!

1 Like