Idea for remote monitoring of 3d prints?

Hey all, I’m new to MakeICT (and I haven’t taken intro to 3d printing yet), but I recently had an idea for the FabLab. It looks like ultimaker printers have a web api built into them, meaning that one could query the printer for various information about what’s going on with the printer. (They don’t post the specification of this api publicly, but the openapi spec should be available on the ip address of the printer itself) I was thinking about developing an application that could show the progress or ETA of prints for each printer in the lab, while also potentially showing a preview of the stl file currently being printed? Maybe also attach a camera to the printers to provide a live view of prints?

Any thoughts on this?

3 Likes

We actually used to have a cameras on them, which you could see from the webpage. So if you were in another part of the building, you could still check up on your print. It clearly didn’t help you unless you were at the space. Currently you can’t access our network without VPN access, and all of our public facing access is hosted offsite.

2 Likes

Octoprint (via plugins) has this functionality already.

2 Likes

Yeah, this has been on the to-do list for a while. All of our printers are actually run through Octoprint, which is open source and has a documented API and a plugin system. So no need to deal with any undocumented proprietary systems. As Steve mentioned one minor hurdle would be getting the information from the internal network to an externally accessible server. There are multiple ways this could be accomplished: set up a VPN with the server, push data from Octoprint to the server, etc.

Having an externally accessible webpage with an overview of what the printers are currently up to would be very handy. The STL file wouldn’t be available, but there is an image that is integrated into the gcode file that should be accessible.