Garden

I attended a recent re-orientation at the new space and learned about all of the currently unused green space at the new building. I’m a home gardener and would love to form a committee for this purpose. I’m confident we could reach out to local gardening centers and likely get some funding for raised beds at the new space. In my wildest dreams, this would expand to a include a greenhouse and could include classes and a sustainability/food education initiative.

Who’s with me?? I have little to no experience with flower gardening, but I’m open to this aspect, too. There’s a lot of useless lawn that needs to be converted to eco-friendly green space!

8 Likes

If you need a 5th person I’m in. My plate is already full, but I will take on a little role if it gets this off the ground.

2 Likes

I’ll be happy to join too once i can get my orientation done. I have experience growing flowers, herbs, vegetables, and Bonsai

2 Likes

Bah, I just realized I didn’t get my flower bulbs in.

What kind of winter growing are you doing? who has some cool houseplants?

This is the only thing I’m growing at the moment

3 Likes

That is beautiful.

1 Like

My wife is the houseplant guru.

1 Like

thank you. Honestly, it’s in my blood. My great grandmother taught me to care for plants and it just sort of happens. All she ever told me was to keep them in the sun and water them if they are dry lol

1 Like

Trees could be a worthwhile addition to the garden. There is a horticulture club down here in haysville that grows trees from saplings. They give them to the city for beautification projects, etc. They also give them to people who need trees after storms or to meet hoa requirements. I know because my scout group planted most of them when they started up. In fact the scouts transplanted a lot of them to different parks in the city too.

They also sell plants saturdays at our Hometown Market during the warmer months.

3 Likes