Electronics Lab Authorization?

I’ve scrolled pretty far back in the past events and don’t see any classes referring to this. Also, i didn’t see mention of the topic in the wiki either but i may have missed it. So, i’ll come right out and ask, what are the requirements for entry to that lab?

I bought a 20 year old HP Scanjet 4600 NIB on eBay to scan a large area and then use software to stitch the scans together. I got roughly 25 scans out of it over 3 weeks before it malfunctioned.

I’d like to know if there is an ESR meter in that lab that i could use to check capacitors in-circuit on the board.

I’m no stranger to electricity although my original training did not include electronics. So, I’ve self-taught some of that. Not sure how much more info I need to give or whatever it takes to be in that room.

Thanks.

3 Likes

There are no safety class requirements to be in the ERP. The only requested is that you read and understand the wiki page at Electronics and Rapid Prototyping - MakeICT Wiki mostly just to avoid damaging sensitive equipment, like the spectrum analyzer.

I’d personally advise against putting anything in your mouth while in there. (Solder, wire, components, exacto knife blades, etc)

Also be careful with spillable liquids.

3 Likes

Correct.

While it doesn’t take an authorization to work in the lab, the spec anny does need authorization.

···

On Fri, Jan 6, 2023, 13:00 Mike Barushok via MakeICT Forum <noreply@talk.makeict.org> wrote:

| mikeb
January 6 |

• | - |

There are no safety class requirements to be in the ERP. The only requested is that you read and understand the wiki page at Electronics and Rapid Prototyping - MakeICT Wiki mostly just to avoid damaging sensitive equipment, like the spectrum analyzer.

I’d personally advise against putting anything in your mouth while in there. (Solder, wire, components, exacto knife blades, etc)

Also be careful with spillable liquids.

Visit Topic or reply to this email to respond.