Drone Pilot (FAA 107) Training

In addition to being an experienced Ham Radio Instructor, I’m also an FAA Certified Flight Instructor with an FAA 107 license.

I’ve been discussing doing a FAA Part 107 license course. If you fly a drone (UAV) that weighs 250 grams (0.55 lbs) or more, you need a UAS license (107) to fly it in most locations.

I’m thinking of offering 2 versions of the class:

One would be for people who already have an FAA Pilot certificate - they know the basics of maps, aviation weather and FARs (Federal Aviation Regulations)

One for non-pilots, you would be taught how to read aeronautical charts, understand airspace, read aviation weather reports, and other general aviation rules.

Part of the course would involve not only the “classroom” things you need to know to pass the FAA 107 written exam, but also some practical experience in the field flying drones (your own or another under supervision). Unfortunately we can’t do that easily at the MakeICT facility, it’s essentially in a “no-fly zone” because of proximity to McConnell AFB and Cessna field. So, we’d do a field-trip to an area with no restrictions.

We would also discuss different drones, their characteristics and uses. “Recreational” vs other flying (basically any UAV flying you do that’s not strictly for your own enjoyment is NOT recreational).

If you’re interested comment to this posting or send me an e-mail at randy.reynard@makeict.org

Randy

5 Likes

I’m interested. I have a drone I haven’t flown in a few years - at the time the license wasn’t required but I knew they’d changed the regs and I haven’t kept up

3 Likes

I know very little about drones but would love to learn. Very interested in a class!

3 Likes

Thanks for the response. As soon as I see the level of interest, I’ll work on setting up a class. It’s going to take some development time.

3 Likes