Converting gas to electric - need help

Glass crusher

I have an old, gas-powered chipper/shredder, but the pull rope simply doesn’t have the power to start the fly-wheel anymore, so I want to strip it down and put an electric motor to just run the chipping mechanism.

I want to use it to crush large quantities of glass into sand. Anyone have knowledge of how to convert something from gas to electric power like this?

post some pictures, and/or build log that sucker RIGHT HERE!
update your post with it’s progress!

1 Like

Keep in mind that I haven’t seen it before but some things to look at

(Also I’m no expert in small engines )

It could be the carburetor needs adjustment, or the spring isnt engaging properly. You may have a fuel or air blockage. All of which is fixable by pulling it apart and cleaning it and putting it back together.

Which is way easier said than done.

As for converting it to electric. You will need a slightly beefy motor. Like an old treadmill might do it. Then once the power is applied you replace the crankshaft of the gas engine with the stator rod of the motor.

I took it in to get serviced, and the guy basically said that the fly-wheels on those things are so beefy that they are always really hard to start. Plus, I don’t really need a chipper. I was hoping that by removing all the extra parts and just needing the teeth on a spinning axle, an electric ignition would be a lot easier to start and run for a lower power application like crushing glass.

The flywheel on a chipper is very heavy by design. You don’t want it coming to a stop every time a blade strikes a limb. So they are always a little tough to spin up.