CNC newbie

I am new to MakeICT. I have been to Maker Monday, signed the waiver, and looking to get checked out on using the CNC. I have 2 projects.

1. I have some simple templates I need help in learning how to digitize for the CNC.
  2. I have paper drawings to make a puzzle box, need to digitize and need help in learning the CAD/CAM software for the CNC.
    I am retired and availble 24/7 to meet anyone anytime.
    Thanks and look forward to meeting everyone.
    Dick
3 Likes

Which machines are you wanting to learn to use? That would help guide you to the right people or class.

If you are free on Thursday evenings 6:30-8:30 we have a CNC/CAD group meeting that exists for exactly this purpose.

3 Likes

I will be there tonight for the CNC/CAD group meeting.
Thanks for the quick response.
Dick

2 Likes

Awesome, see you tonight!

How did it go? I need to get permission as well. I guess I will go next Thursday, do I need to sign up for it? Or is it an informal meeting?

Bill

1 Like

It is an informal meeting. The eventual goal would be to have some lecture type sessions where we present demo or discussion of a specific topic. But at the moment, we just try to answer questions of those who come in.

1 Like

Hey Christian, I am new as well and attended a maker monday last night!

I have a few parts I was interested in milling on the Tormach. I don’t know how to run the machine or generate the Gcode for it. Thankfully, I am somewhat familiar with cnc equipment because I own a 3d printer and have used a laser cutter a few times. Part of my project will also require some lathe work to bore some holes. I don’t know if the tormach is capable but I have always wanted to learn to use a metal lathe anyway!

Will their be another class this thursday the 28th? and if so, would I be able to learn how to operate the Tormach and a metal lathe?

Alex,

First off welcome. So glad to see new members with great enthusiasm.