Book Arts Committee proposal

Hello!

I’m Robbin. I’m a former audio engineer who dabbled in physical computing. I’m now interested in a more analog craft: bookmaking! I took a workshop this summer with book artist Eliot Dudik at Maine Media Workshops. It was great! Upon return, I’ve discovered a lack of a space to spread out and repeat the process. There at Maine Media, they had a giant edge trimmer and guillotine cutter for thick davey board. (And weights and presses and bears, oh my!) I would love to see a dedicated area to book arts at Booth. I’d also like to see the book arts have a higher-end inkjet photo printer as that’s my concentration. And letterpress if we could manage!

I’m looking to start the book arts committee which needs a minimum of 5 people to be brought to the board of directors for approval. Please raise your hand here and give any feedback. THANK YOU.

https://www.robbingheesling.com/book-arts

4 Likes

@Robbin_Gheesling if you could add a photo to the post it will make it more attractive for Facebook. I’ll share it there, I know several past member who were into book making, not sure if they are still active. We have some of the supplies you mentioned in the print shop. I’m sure @Mlujan or @devin can fill you in. The high quality Cannon could also potentially print fabric and I know there’s some interest in that as well.

Maybe not the best pic, but one is added!

1 Like

Cool. I would join a committee in book making… I have been wanting to learn…

2 Likes

I’ve played with this and working on getting deeper with it. I see it as an apex making. With leatherwork, metalworking (more jewelry like)n textiles and printing. I even have plans to add cast resin objects and someday … lapadary. I guess I never considered it to be it’s own thing. Like jigs for sewing signatures and headbands? Glues and vices and presses?

Perhaps that’s what the committee will figure out.

Ok I’m in.

2 Likes