Body Doubling

For context, I’m currently seeking an ADHD diagnosis, so if anyone else is either suspecting or diagnosed neurodivergent, this topic is for you.

I have had lots of experience with body-doubling, even before it was called that, in my life and wanted to see if anyone would be interested in doing that for online work? We have a discord server that doesn’t get much use, and I thought it would be perfect for this, personally. No talking needs to happen, but its always an option, and for me it helps to be able to ask a quick question and then get back to work instead of picking my phone up to send a message and getting horribly distracted…lol.

Would anyone be interested in this? I figure if someone wants to body double, they could hop into a voice chat and that way other people can see that someone else is in need of it/open to it.

3 Likes

What is this concept of which you speak?

1 Like

Its something neurodivergent people will often do because it helps them to get work done that may otherwise not get done if by themselves. Some examples in every day life are when some people will not avidly clean if there is no pressure of people coming over and therefore will clean like crazy once they know people will be over, or will be more focused when working on a project or work when someone else is either working with them or near them. I’ve experienced both throughout my life at varying degrees. I’m not sure why our brains work this way, but it helps a TON to have someone “there” even if no speaking is happening. Its like the presence of the person, even if not physically but over a call, is extremely helpful to us to keep us focused on a task. I believe most neurotypical people would find it difficult to focus in this situation, but it depends on the person. It does amazing things for my productivity lol.

3 Likes

I feel. So, basically, you’re more productive with company?

2 Likes