Anvil

@rustin.atkeisson brought up building some sort of stand for the anvil in his chalk board thread. My anvil is on a steel base that seems to work, but it also sits outside most of the time. I have watched several videos that talk about how to support an anvil and most suggest that a big chunk of something solid is the best choice. A big solid block made out of 2x4s seems to be good at having lots of mass.

1 Like

I’m no expert but what I’ve seen on YouTube is a solid stump of hardwood. Like a big tree trunk of wood that puts the anvil waist high. Metal arts would have good input as to how to mount it.

1 Like

There are some pretty thick wall 4x6 box sections sitting in the metalshop that I thought would make a pretty good tripod base.

The Haysville metal artisans suggested going with a tripod base since they’re easier to level out and spread out the forces enacted on the anvil. They also suggested mounting the anvil so that the top of the anvil was at or slightly below waist height so that it’s easier to strike the anvil with the full flat face of a hammer.

The anvil bases they had there looked pretty simple, but definitely had heft to them. If I remember right, there was one made from a bunch of 4x4s glued together like a butcher block.

Here’s what they have in Haysville:

2 Likes

That’s exactly what I was talking about. It could still be made with three high points for stability. It’s the heft and dampening that I think are the benefits.

1 Like

Would the garden committee or woodshop be willing to sacrifice a 4x4 or two for this purpose?

1 Like

By my calculations, we would need about 50’ of 4x4 to make an 18" square block

1 Like

There’s also about a physical ton worth of steel setting off the end of the building that is begging for a new life in some kind of project…

1 Like

i can get some 2x4’s and drop them by. they would be from an old packing crate.

1 Like