Acrylic Questions

Okay so, several questions. All the acrylic that I remember seeing a bit ago in the old boiler room seems to have been moved? Or I’m just remembering incorrectly, but any info on that would be great! There didn’t seem to be as many colors as I recall seeing tbe first time :thinking:

Second question is for where to get more acrylic? The Yard Store has been recommended recently, but I’m still new to Wichita so any other recommendations (even online) are welcome.

3rd question is about the laser cutter parameter tests I saw in the FabLab. Is there one for acrylics or is it just way more simple than I think so it doesn’t require one? I’m still new so coming up with power and speed, I assume, will take trial and error. However if there are already parameters for that, I think it would be helpful to have them already posted up like the others.

Last question is about adhesives. I’ve watched several videos on this topic, but was curious which ones we have in the lab to use before I go opening random containers of things lol.

Thank you!!!

2 Likes

About half of the acrylic in the boiler room is on the bottom shelf under the plants.

Lustercraft on south Meridian has also been suggested as a local source. I assume there’s some type of story behind it, but our wiki says to be very careful with acrylic from the Yard and to make sure it still has the original backing.

As far as cutting/engraving it, for engraving I’ve had lots of success around 150mm/s and 20% power for what I do. For cutting, you’ll want to go very slow maybe as low as 10 mm/s and crank up power to 80%. Some of it is so thick I’ve had to do multiple passes to cut all the way through.

3 Likes

Oh I’m such a doofus, I didn’t even think of the bottom, I just saw the top above the plants!

Oh yes, I’ve heard to be careful about the Yard Store’s acrylic, but making sure they have the og backing is a good sign! Thanks for that tip!