Volunteer for firing the kiln?

I have some experience using a kiln and would love to get some more! I didn’t know if this was an option to learn to fire our kiln and be able to help with firings so they can be more frequent? I am at make ict a lot and would love to be able to help out, I know we have another kiln as well but it needs a sitter. I would be happy to be a kiln sitter for that one, I would just need the training for both options etc lmk please! <3

2 Likes

this is such a good idea!! I know a lot of people would really love to help out, and the number of pieces that need firing is probably pretty overwhelming for the people who already operate the kiln. maybe certain people can get individually approved based on experience, or at least get trained with a current kiln operator

1 Like

Per the wiki page, the area lead and assistant lead are @pwhutchi and @ScottS .

Also, the requirements to be designated to perform kiln firing is on the wiki page near the bottom: Ceramics - MakeICT Wiki

So, if you have familiarized yourself with the requirements and want to be designated to fire the kiln I’d suggest communicating those facts to the lead or assistant lead to get started.

4 Likes

Thank you for the info! I will get on that!

2 Likes

When I was in on Friday there wasn’t enough ready-to-glaze items to fire the kiln. It was apparently a VERY busy weekend in the studio however (YAY!), as the shelves are full of future beautiful stuff today. There is a very full glaze load running now (also YAY). :smiley:

Unlike pretty much everything else at MakeICT, loading/unloading and firing the kiln involves taking responsibility for other members things with significant risk of damaging them. For that reason, we have been very hesitant to authorize additional folks beside the two co-leads to take on this task. Having a couple folks who are very familiar with the process helps to reduce the chance of damaging / destroying other peoples things.