Paul's Answers for the 2018 Election

Tell us about yourself:
My name is Paul Maseberg and I joined MakeICT just over a year ago. I have also been an assistant in the metalshop for about a year. My day job is a software engineer for AccuWeather. I grew up on a ranch making things and while I love my job, MakeICT has been an awesome outlet for getting out from behind a desk.

What are some favorite things you have already done for MakeICT?
I helped with the funding raising auction last fall. As a new member it was a great way to get to know a lot of people quickly and see some of the great skills of other members.

What in your opinion qualifies you to be a board member?
In the last 10 years at my work I have learned the value of being objective. As humans, we like our own ideas, but we are often better served by combining our efforts and sometimes that means changing our minds.

Are you able to be at Board meetings, Maker Mondays and other events for the duration of your term?
Yes.

It is our mission to innovate, learn, and build community at the intersection of art, technology, science, and culture. How would you support our mission as leadership?
By making sure we have the best run Makespace we can given our resources. The building and equipment is the cornerstone to MakeICT. Getting people involved to support those two things is key to make sure the mission is possible.

What should we do next?
Ask what will take MakeICT to the “next” level. To me the answer is a better building, more and better equipment, and better classes and other support to help members learn.

What are your thoughts about MakeICT’s direction in the coming year?
MakeICT has continued to grow in members. This year it will be important to see what we can do to handle that growth. I think a big building will help, but that is the “easy part”. I think the question of how to scale the MakeICT community will be key to keeping members coming back.