Hi all, my name is John

My name is John Fulcher and I’m new to Make ICT and the maker community. I attended orientation last night and I’m super excited to dive in, meet some people, and make some things.

I’ve dabbled in different crafts over the years but nothing that I claim experience or talent in. I’ve recently taken an interest woodworking and am currently building a large dog house. My deeper interest is in working with hand tools, learning traditional joint making, etc. I am interested in metalwork also…if I’m honest, it’s all interesting to me.

This may sound strange, but I’ve been a little discouraged by the way we, as a society, have decided that cheap is better and we’ll just throw “it” away and get a new one. I’m hoping to pick up some skills that will allow for more choices. If I need it, can I build it? If it’s broke, can I fix it? If I can’t fix it can I take it apart and make something else? This sounds like fun to me. Hopefully I’ll meet some good folks who can help me out and share ideas. Oh, and I’m a pretty quick study, good at figuring out how things work and almost always willing to pitch in and help others.

Hopefully we’ll run into each other soon.

9 Likes

Welcome John! Glad you are looking forward to expanding your Superpower of Fine Hand Crafted wooden items. My SuperPower is Turning Wood into things. Usually round.

2 Likes

Hi John! I agree about the disposable stuff out there. But then again I get really excited at harbor freight. I’ll learn someday. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Life’s a balance. I own more than a few things from IKEA…and harbor freight. Thanks for the reply and I look forward to getting to know you.

1 Like