Game and Crafts Table for Home

GNC Table

What: A Table for me to have in my apartment for working on crafts or playing games with friends.

Reason: I need one, tables are expensive, and “simple” to build. Despite the large project, its a easy project to break down into pieces and work on over multiple weeks if necessary. (Also a chance to practice before potentially making a table for the Community Room for the game group)

Plans:
Phase 1: Find/Design Build plans (Preferably find, I tend to get stuck in design)
Phase 2: Decide and Purchase Materials (Bring to MakeICT?)
Phase 3: Prep Materials (aka Measuring, Cutting, Plane/Joint, Drill Holes, etc…)
Phase 4: Assembly (“Dry” Assembly at MakeICT then probably Assemble at Home because Apt)

Will post progress in the comments, but will mark off phases here.

FEEL FREE TO OFFER ADVICE OR ASSISTANCE (I am new to building tables)

1 Like

Not simple by any means, but kind of cool

3 Likes

Okay, thats actually really cool. I have always been super into tables that have moveable surfaces to hide or maintain game surfaces

I’ve been toying with making something like this for home. I have some leftover hickory from the dining table I made at the old Makerspace so I could have it match.

1 Like

This is what I have been looking at making. Got to first build the house for it to go in first.

Found some plans I am going to look at later. Really close to what I want. Definitely difficult tho

I don’t think this is your first project, right? That’s a lot of moving parts that all have to fit together. Not trying to discourage you from building it, of course. Just making sure your expectations are realistic. Looks pretty cool, and anything you make will be way cooler than something that can be bought.

It would be my first project at MakeICT and the first major woodworking project in a while. But I have made smaller things in the past. I expect I will need help in some areas, which is why I want to have an extensive planning phase.