Air is a poor conductor for 3.3v circuits

I forgot that the check for unconnected traces was separate from the rest of the DRC in KiCAD. Explains why column 11 didn’t work too well on the boards I received. At least it’s an easy fix.

4 Likes

What are your plans for populating? I have a project in the queue that has SMD on both sides. I’ve never done SMD before, but I’m planning to do the whole thing with a hot air gun. My scouring the internet for insights has made me reasonably confident in pulling it off, but I’m always happy to hear from people with experience

Yeah, I typically use solder paste and a hot air rework station for SMDs. If you have many closely packed components it can be kind of a pain since you have to do them one at a time so they don’t blow all over the place. After the paste heats up and before the solder coalesces things slide around very easily and I find that I have to hold them down. I use SMD tweezers to position the components, but I’ve been looking into suction tools. Having good flux is very helpful for cleaning up shorts between pins on fine-pitched packages.

I haven’t done a board with SMD components on both sides, but I know when they are done commercially they use solder with a higher melting point for the first side so that the components don’t fall when the other side goes through the reflow process. Don’t know if that would be necessary when using hot air, but you may need to be careful not to heat the board too much when doing the second side.